Thursday, 11 April 2013

Book: The Hythrun Chronicles by Jennifer Fallon

This is also sometimes referred to as two seperate series, the Demon Child trilogy and the Wolfblade trilogy. Though the Demon Child Trilogy were written first, the Wolfblade trilogy is set first. And so, the recommended reading order is:

  1. Wolfblade
  2. Warrior
  3. Warlord
  4. Medalon
  5. Treason Keep
  6. Harashini
I didn't really know what to expect when I picked up Wolfblade, but I am really glad that I did. I found it while looking for books with strong female protagonists, and I must say, Marla, Kalan and Adrina definately fit that category! As does Aija for that matter, though maybe she is better described as an antagonist. 

The way that the story progresses is different in the two sets of books, the first is very much a coming of age story, for both Marla Wolfblade and her children (and various step-children, nieces, nephews, wards etc.). As well as focusing strongly on the political side of things, as you may have noticed, it is the political fantasies that I like the best, and this is definately one of those. There is magic involved but it plays a very limited role in the books (partly to do with the limited number of users) and so that isn't really the focus. 

The second set of books does focus more on the magical side of things and how the Gods are interferring (particularly with the demon child) and trying to get her to fulfill her destiny. In a way it is also a coming of age story for R'shiel, though it also has elements of discovery!

Some of the things that happened in the Demon Child Trilogy I saw as kind of predictable, though to be honest I would probably have been disappointed if they hadn't actually happened! 

Read this series, it really does deserve more credit! Though once again, read Wolfblade first or you'll be ruining some of the plot!